Are you wondering if we still require travel e-pass for moving around across states? Let’s take a look at what you need to know about travel e-pass.

Alright, so we all know that due to the Covid-19 pandemic, movement across various regions of India has been restricted. However, the Coronavirus lockdown is slowly phasing out and travel restrictions are being lifted in a phase-wise manner. Needless to say, each state has its own set of rules to follow.

Do you still need travel e-pass?

In effect from 1 July 2020, many states (but not all) eased out restrictions on movement across the states. Therefore now, you “DO NOT NEED” e-pass for inter-state travel in India. However, states like Maharashtra, Tamil Nadu, Karnataka, Assam etc are grappling with a rise in cases and presently, prohibits movement freely. To put it simply, you will require e-pass for/to these states.

If we specifically discuss Mumbai, then note that if you intend to travel outside your district/ state, then YES, e-pass is required.   

Where and How to apply for travel e-pass

 You can apply e-pass via:

 1. National Informatics Centre

The following is the process:

1. Visit the aforementioned link. Click on “Select State to Apply e-Pass”.

2. Click on the relevant state. (Note: The relevant state will be the one wherein you are travelling from- the   starting point of your travel. For example, if you are travelling from Maharashtra to Gujarat, the relevant state will be Maharashtra).

3. After clicking on the relevant state, fill in the form and submit. (Note: Every state will have its own form and own list of e-pass services).

travel e-pass NIC website

NIC Website

2. State website links

Alternatively, you can visit the respective state links dedicated to e-pass.





Maharashtra   Maharashtra travel e-pass. Apply here.
   Gujarat    Gujarat travel e-pass. Apply here.
  Karnataka   Karnataka travel e-pass. Apply here.
   Kerala   Kerala travel e-pass. Apply here.  
  Odisha   Odisha travel e-pass. Apply here.  
 Tamil Nadu   Tamil Nadu e-pass. Apply here.

You can also apply for e-pass via Arogya Setu App OR through the mobile apps that few of the state governments (Chattisgarh, Punjab, Odisha etc) have launched.

How do you know that e-pass has been approved?

You can check the status of your e-pass from the website that you have applied your e-pass from. At the time of submission of your application, you will be given an ID/reference number. Note that down for future communication. In a few states, like Maharashtra, your mobile number will be your reference number. A confirmation email and/or message will be sent upon the approval of e-pass.

What is the time frame within which e-pass gets approved?

 Usually, the e-pass gets approved within 24 hours.  

What documents are required?

The documents will be specific to the type of travel request (like medical, death, stranded, students etc). However, the following documents are the common ones:

1. ID proof

2. Address Proof

3. Proof specific to travel request.

What is the validity of e-pass

The e-pass issued is for one-time use only. The government issues pass either for a one-way journey or for a return trip, depending upon the information filled in the form.

We presume that rules will keep evolving and changing as and when the situation changes. We  will endeavour to keep this post updated accordingly.

Suggested read: “These stunning museums are giving virtual tours